Interview: Developer Bob White on Building Web Controlled Time Lapse THETA

Key quotes:

“Don’t ever try to sell me a piece of electronics without an API. How is one expected to add any product customization without an API?”

“The only real problem that I have run into during testing is Las Vegas outdoor temperatures.”

Who is Bob White? What’s your background?

I am a retired aerospace engineer with a strong background in the operations of satellites including RF Ground Systems and Computer Satellite Control Systems. I have had extensive training in electronics and computer science throughout my career and hold an MBA from the College of William and Mary.

I enjoy solving problems and improving processes through the use of commonly available hardware and by applying my own custom developed scripts.

I am a always up for a challenge and relish the satisfaction of a successfully completed project.

When did you start using RICOH THETA and why?

I received my Ricoh Theta S on 21 Feb 2017.

I had wanted to dabble in 360 photography and after researching the available cameras in the market I started to narrow down my search using cost, image quality and API availability. In my mind the Ricoh Theta S was the clear winner.

The Theta S might have scored a little lower then some on available memory and available power but I was impressed with the API. Don’t ever try to sell me a piece of electronics without an API. How is one expected to add any product customization without an API?

What’s the idea behind the Little Black Box? What does it do?