4 Beginner Tips to Learn to Build THETA Unity Projects

I spend wonderful weekends teaching my 11 year old daughter programming. Although I generally focus on Python and JavaScript, this past weekend, I helped her to learn Unity and cat 3D worlds.

Here’s 4 tips to help complete beginners dive into Unity

1. Watch Bob Tabor’s Videos

C# Fundamentals for Absolute Beginners is an excellent video tutorial series produced by Bob Tabor that is free.

Bob’s video series is targeted at absolute beginners to programming, not just beginners to C#. It’s a little slow if you know another language already. It’s worth looking at.

2. Focus on C#, not JavaScript or Boo

I first tried to build my daughter’s curriculum around JavaScript. Up until recently, I was very biased against Microsoft products, preferring Linux. I thought of C# as a Microsoft language. Due to my bias, I tried to use JavaScript first. There’s more more Unity examples for C# than for JavaScript. Unity programs can also developed with Boo, with is similar than Python. As my daughter has a few years of Python experience, this seemed like a good option initially. There’s even less examples of using Boo. Based on the overall learning experience using tutorials and examples, C# is clearly the winner. I’m using C# now.

C# is also a good language for teaching. JavaScript programmers know the pitfalls of JavaScript that can frustrate kids (private/public variables, type override, and hoisting). The syntax of C# makes it clearer about the intent of the code. I’m not sure if C# will stand up to my scrutiny over time, but for now it looks good. I’m sticking to C#.

My initial impressions – C# is easy to use, easy to learn, and the toolsets around it are amazing. Which leads us to my first experience with Microsoft’s developer tools.

3. Use Microsoft Visual Studio

Microsoft Visual Studio is amazingly good for C# programming.