Theta4j Minimal Plug-in Example in Java

Yesterday, I wrote about an example from @shrhdk (Shiro) of using Kotlin to write a minimal plug-in. As Kotlin is new and I’m still learning Java, I decided to build an example in Java starting from a new empty activity, not from the plug-in SDK. This is like a “Hello, World” example for the plug-in that just takes a picture.

ExecutorService

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to add a simple theta.takePicture() command into
KeyCallback.onKeyDown and be finished with the example. Sadly, I needed to use ExecutorService.

private ExecutorService executor = Executors.newSingleThreadExecutor();

In onKeyDown, I needed to do this:

@Override
    public void onKeyDown(int keyCode, KeyEvent keyEvent) {
        if (keyCode == KeyReceiver.KEYCODE_CAMERA) {
            // use lambda expression with Java 1.8
            executor.submit(() -> {
                Log.d("THETA", "take picture");
                try {
                    theta.takePicture();
                } catch (IOException e) {
                    e.printStackTrace();
                }
            });

The above snippet was a little intimidating for me at first because I didn’t know what this line meant.

executor.submit(() -> {

I skimmed this article on Lambda expressions and was able to figure out that it’s a shortcut for a Runnable in this case.

The only new concept is to put theta.takePicture() on a new thread. Wish it could be easier and just dump the entire KeyCallBack into onCreate or onResume, but that’s how it is.

Getting the pluginlibrary and theta4j libraries

As I started from a new empty Activity and not from the Plug-in SDK, I also needed to get the libraries with the gradle config files.

In build.gradle project

allprojects {
    repositories {
        google()
        jcenter()
        maven { url 'https://github.com/ricohapi/theta-plugin-library/raw/master/repository' }
    }
}

In build.gradle app

dependencies {