8K 5 FPS Street View video mode

Is there an easy way yet to be able to enable 5 FPS for recording Google Street View video mode captures?

Thanks in advance

1 Like

Interesting that the body of the camera doesn’t have 8K 5fps

The fiileFormat has the 5fps in the API.

I guess the official mobile app can’t set it?

I wrote an article on using something called API Tester (free tool) to test APIs in the field

You can save the API commands in the tool.

If we provide instructions for the fileFormat of the X, is the API Tester something you can use? It’s for software developers, but it might be usable by a wider range of people.

Thanks for your reply Craig.

I’m not a developer, I just capture and publish 360° imagery to Google Maps Street View. I have the camera mounted above my head on a backpack and usually control it remotely via the app on my phone to start and stop the recordings. Main settings are usually set in auto, with the occasional manual adjustment of the EV setting if needed.

I have been aware for a long time that 5 FPS is available in the API, but it not in the camera app settings.

I’d certainly be keen to try your API tester to see if we could get this to work. 2 FPS is too slow for other than walking speed and the 10 FPS is far too high and creates unnecessarily large files.

Do you have an iPhone or an Android phone? Maybe both?

The API Tester is a free app on Google Play. I didn’t write it, but can show you the configuration. There are similar apps for the iPhone

The phone I use to control the camera remotely is an old iPhone 7, but my main phone that is mounted alongside the iPhone for navigation is a a Google Pixel 6 Pro. Happy to test an learn using my Android phone.

Many thanks

Jim

Using the free API Tester tool to set 8K 5fps video on the RICOH THETA X for Google Street View.

file format API for 8K 5fps: theta-api-specs/theta-web-api-v2.1/options/file_format.md at main · ricohapi/theta-api-specs · GitHub