Creating 'Regular' photos from Theta Z1

Hi there,
Sorry, I’m new to my Theta Z1.
I have been using a Matterport Pro for virtual tours and a DSLR for photos. The process has been very time consuming and Matterport customer service is the pits.

I am currently trying RicohTours and like the efficiency. I am wondering, how can I use the 360 images for regular photos? How can I create images for online etc?

Thanks in advance,
Andy.

1 Like

You can post the 360 images to Facebook, Google Photos (it can automatically sync with your mobile phone), or a number of other photo galleries.

If you want to use a section of the picture for a 2D “flat” image, you will lose resolution compared to a DLSR. You will get better 2D “flat” images with a mobile phone.

However, if you want a wide angle or have the 360 images already, you can get usable images by cropping out a section of the 360 image manually with a screen grab. This quality is probably not sufficient for the final real estate site.

You can also experiment with this plug-in and see if it meets your needs.

Let us know if you want the 360 view or the “flat” view and if you’re looking for “good” quality shots for a real estate site or just something quick to share on social media.

2 Likes

Hi Andy, we will be releasing a feature which allows you to extract 2D / still images from a 360 image.

Thanks./Martin (RICOH Tours)

3 Likes

That would be a great feature. Are those “still” 2D extraction shots intended to help showcase the real estate property? That would be a great way push the limits of the Z1 still image technology. I look forward to this update from RICOH Tours. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Thanks for the replies.
Martin, when will this feature be released?
I know using a DSLR is best (Which i do 99%) but I have also pulled 2d pics from Matterport which usually turns out fine.
To do this with RicohTours would be great too.