NDI plugin experiments ?

Hello !

I’m currently testing everything i can with a Theta X and i am wondering why there is no NDI capabilities in any community plugins.

I will try the RTMP/RTSP live streaming plugin, but for what i can understand from source code, this is basically an Android app that uses a all-in-one dependency -pedroLibrary) for encoding and streaming.

It seems like solutions exists for Android apps to implement NDI, like GitHub - WalkerKnapp/devolay: A Java binding for the Newtek NDI(tm) SDK. but i have no experience (yet!) in Android development (neither for the Theta).

Could someone be of some help to experiment with it ?
Anyone already tried ?

Thanks

I have heard of no attempts to use NDI.

What is the advantage over other approaches such as SRT or event RTMP?

What are your requirements?

Have you looked at this plug-in?

Hello craig (thanks a lot for your reply, you are the reason i bought a Theta X).

For what i’ve tested in the past, NDI gave me the best results with iPhones and Android phones as remote camera, with both good resolutions and low latency.

My requirements would be to keep latency as low as possible (ideally <1s), and i never succeed to reach this kind of results with RTSP/RTMP (i tried having a local nginx rtmp server but latency was huge).

I don’t know about SRT though.

I did some tests, and i’m hesitating between risking loosing time to have NDI working, or returning the Theta X, switch for a Theta Z1 and only use Live USB Mode with 4K.

Initial project is streaming for 2hrs+, 4K30fps minimum, with low latency, no battery and ethernet.
Currently i can have 15mns@4K30fps with low latency before the camera goes too hot, because i can’t remove the battery (other topic opened), and USB-C cable is a bit short.

Also, issue with plugin is i have to use Phone App to launch plugins, and i need have Wifi for other usage on my phone (could use a spare phone if there is no alternative)