Z1 very dark video outdoors

I have a Z1 which I am using with stella_vslam with some success. The video settings on the z1 seem to be very lacking. I was outside on a cloudy day with some blue sky too walking through the trees and the trees are so dark you cannot make out color. In the video you can see color of the vehicles around, the color of the sky and a blue roof nearby but the the tress are so dark. I would have thought a 1" sensor would have done a better job or am I missing something?
See attached pic of the video.

Hi,
Could you please share a short video uploaded to YouTube or by sharing directly the file?

I’m a developer and I let users preset exposure compensation before starting to record video when using my plugin. I did 't notice such option in Theta app… :frowning:

How does stabilization work for you while walking?

Thanks!

Have you adjusted the exposure compensation (EV) and white balance of the video?

To set exposureCompensation in video mode, I think you need to be in video mode. I believe the image and video settings are separate.

white balance can also be adjusted in video mode

The plug-in from @biviel can also do HDR video.

1 Like

Hi, yes, Craig is right, you can set EV and white balance like visible here through Theta app:

I tried to shorten the video I shot yesterday so I could upload it but do not have any software that supports that. Is there some opensource software to allow editing of 360 videos. I used Openshot but I can no longer pan in the video when played back. There is freezing rain going on right now so I can’t go shoot a shorter one at the moment.
The 4k video is not all that good for quality and stability. Its muddy over smoothed and not sharp at all. Once I run it through the Windows theta app to correct it into a equarectangular video and play it back in vlc it looks pretty bad. Slightly better in the Theta app. The 4k video coming out of my old Mavic Pro with a smaller sensor looks so much better in quality.